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Home
buying - your home finance.
If you're like most people, buying a home is the biggest investment
you'll ever make. Annual mortgage, taxes and insurance costs
can range from 25% to 40% of your gross annual income. By visiting
this reference page, you're on your way to protecting yourself,
and making the home-buying process easier by becoming an informed
consumer.
Buying
a home
- Looking
for a home without being pre-approved.
Pre-approval
and pre-qualification are two different things. During
the pre-qualification process, a loan officer asks you a
few questions, then hands you a "pre-qual" letter.
The pre-approval process is much more thorough.
During the pre-approval process,
the mortgage company does virtually all the work associated
with obtaining full-approval. Since there is no property
yet identified to purchase, however, an appraisal and title
search aren't conducted.
When you're pre-approved, you have
much more negotiating clout with the seller. The seller
knows you can close the transaction because a lender has
carefully reviewed your income, assets, credit and other
relevant information. In some cases (multiple offers,
for example), being pre-approved can make the difference
between buying and not buying a home. Also, you can
save thousands of dollars as a result of being in a better
negotiating situation.
Most good Realtors will not show
you homes until you are pre-approved. They don't want
to waste your, their, or the seller's time.
Many mortgage companies will help
you become pre-approved at little or no cost. They'll
usually need to check your credit and verify your income
and assets.
- Making
verbal (oral) agreements!
If
an agent tries to make you sign a written document that
is contrary to their verbal commitments, don't do it! For
example, if the agent says the washer will come with the
home, but the contract says it will not--the written contract
will override the verbal contract. In fact, written
contracts almost always override verbal contracts. When
buying or selling real estate, abide by this maxim: Get
it in writing!
- Choosing
a lender because they have the lowest rate. Not getting
a written good-faith estimate.
While
rate is important, you have to consider the overall cost
of your loan. Pay close attention to the APR, loan fees,
discount and origination points. Some lenders include
discount and origination points in their quoted points.
Other lenders may only quote discount points, when
in fact there is an additional origination point (or fraction
of a point).
This difference in the way points
are sometime quoted is important to you. One lender
will quote all points, while another lender may disclose
an extra point, or fraction thereof, at a later time--an
unwelcome surprise.
Within 3 working days after receipt
of your completed loan application, your mortgage company
is required to provide you with a written good-faith estimate
of closing costs. You may want to consider requesting
a GFE from a few lenders before submitting your application.
With a few GFEs to compare, you can get a feel for which
lenders are more thorough, and you can educate youself regarding
the costs associated with your transaction. The GFE
with the highest costs may not indicate that a particular
lender is more expensive than another--in fact, they may
be more diligent in itemizing all fees.
The cost of the mortgage, however,
shouldn't be your only criteria. You should feel comfortable
that the loan officer you are dealing with is committed
to your best interests and will deliver what they promise.
- Choosing
a lender because they are recommended by your Realtor.
Your Realtor is not a financial
expert. He or she may not know which loan is best
for you. Your Realtor gets a commission only when your transaction
closes. As a result, the Realtor may refer you to a lender who will close your loan,
but who may not have the best rates or fees. Also,
many Realtors refer you to one of their friends in the loan
business--who also may not have the best rates or fees.
Although most Realtors are professional and concerned about
your best interests, you should do your own homework.
We recommend asking for a loan with someone of your choice before you
sign a real estate sales contract. There are countless
stories of consumers who ended up paying higher rates, or
got a loan that wasn't right for them, because they blindly
followed their Realtor's advice.
- Not
getting a rate lock in writing.
When a mortgage company tells you they
have locked your rate, get a written statement detailing
the interest rate, the length of the rate lock, and other
particulars about the program.
- Using
a dual agent an agent who represents the buyer and seller
in the same transaction.
Buyers
and sellers have opposing interests. Sellers want
to receive the highest price, buyers want to pay the lowest
price. In most situations, dual agents cannot be fair
to both buyer and seller. Since the seller usually
pays the commission, the dual agent may negotiate harder
for the seller than for the buyer. If you are a buyer,
it is usually better to have your own agent represent you.
The only time you should consider
using a dual agent, is when you can get a price break (usually
resulting from the dual agent lowering their commission).
- Buying
a home without professional inspections. Taking the
seller's word that repairs have been made.
Unless
you're buying a new home with warranties on most equipment,
it is highly recommended that you get property, roof and
termite inspections. These reports will give you a
better picture of what you're buying. Inspection reports
are great negotiating tools when it comes to asking the
seller to make repairs. If a professional home inspector
states that certain repairs need to be made, the seller
is more likely to agree to making them.
If the seller agrees to make repairs,
have your inspector verify the completed work prior to close
of escrow. Do not assume that everything will be done
as promised.
- Not shopping
for home insurance until you are ready to close.
Start
shopping for insurance as soon as you have an accepted offer.
Many buyers wait until the last minute to get insurance
and find they have no time left to shop around.
- Signing
documents without reading them.
Do
not sign documents in a hurry. As soon as possible,
review the documents you'll be signing at close of escrow--including
a copy of all loan documents. This way, you can review
them and get your questions answered in a timely manner.
Do not expect to read all the documents during the
closing. There is rarely enough time to do that.
- Making
moving plans that don't work.
You
expect to move out of your current residence on Friday and
into your new residence over the weekend. Also on
Friday, your lease terminates and the movers are scheduled
to appear.
Friday morning arrives: bags packed,
boxes stacked, children under arm and the dog on a leash;
you're sitting on your front door stoop awaiting the arrival
of the movers. Your phone rings. Your loan closing is delayed
until the following Tuesday. The new tenants turn
into your driveway with a weighted-down U-Haul and the movers
pull up across the street.
You ask yourself, "Where's
the nearest Motel 6 and storage facility? How much
will the movers charge for an extra trip? Can we afford
it?"
How can you avoid such a disaster?
Cancel your lease and ask the movers to show up five
to seven days after you anticipate closing your transaction.
Consider the extra expense an insurance policy. You're
buying peace of mind--and protecting yourself from expensive
delays.
Refinancing
your home
- Refinancing
with your current lender without shopping around.
Your
current lender may not have the best rates and programs.
Believing it's easier to work with
your current lender is a common misconception. In
most cases, they'll require the same documentation as other
lenders and mortgage brokers. This is because most
loans are sold on the secondary market and have to be approved
independently. Even if you've been good at making
payments to your existing lender, they'll still have to
process the verifications all over again.
- Not doing
a break-even analysis.
Determine
the total transaction costs and how much you'll save each
month by lowering your monthly mortgage payment. Divide
the transaction costs by the monthly savings to determine
the number of months you'll have to stay in the property
to recoup your refinancing costs.
For example, if the costs of refinancing
total $2000, and you save $50 per month, you break-even
in 2000/50 = 40 months. In this case, you
should only refinance if you plan to stay in the home for
at least 40 months.
Note: The above example is suited to comparing two
similar loans when the intent is to lower your monthly payment
and recoup transaction costs relatively quickly. Other
refinancing transactions require different kinds of analyses
which are beyond the scope of this document. Other
types of refinancing transactions include exchanging a fixed
rate for an ARM, or a 30 year mortgage for a 15 year mortgage.
- Not getting
a written good-faith estimate of closing costs.
Within
3 working days after receipt of your completed loan application,
your mortgage company is required to provide you with a
written good-faith estimate of closing costs.
- Paying
for a home appraisal when you think the appraised value
may be too low.
Have
the appraisal company conduct a desk-review appraisal (typically
at no charge) and provide you with a range of possible values.
Your mortgage company can ask an appraiser to do this
for you.
Do not waste your money on a complete
appraisal if you believe the home is unreasonably priced.
- Using
the county tax assessor's value as the market value of your
home.
Mortgage
companies do not use the county tax assessor's value to
help determine if they'll originate your loan. They, like
real estate agents, usually use the sales comparison approach
(formerly known as the market data comparison approach).
- Signing
documents without reading them.
Do
not sign documents in a hurry. As soon as possible,
review the documents you'll be signing at close of escrow--including
a copy of all loan documents. This way, you can review
them and get your questions answered in a timely manner.
Do not expect to read all the documents during the
closing. There is rarely enough time to do that.
- Not providing
your mortgage company with documents in a timely manner.
When
your mortgage company asks you for additional paperwork--get
cracking! They're trying to get you approved! If
you don't quickly respond to your broker's requests, you
could end up paying higher rates should your rate lock expire.
- Not getting
a rate lock in writing.
When
a mortgage company tells you they've locked your rate, get
a written statement detailing the interest rate, the length
of the rate lock, and other particulars about the program.
- Drawing
against your home equity credit line before you refinance
your first mortgage.
Many
lenders have "cash-out" seasoning requirements.
If you draw against your credit line for anything
other than home improvements, they'll consider your first
mortgage refinance transaction a "cash-out" refinance.
This creates stricter lending requirements and can,
in some cases, break your deal
- Getting
a second mortgage before you refinance your first mortgage.
Many
mortgage companies look at the combined loan amounts (i.e.,
the sum of the first and second loans) when you are refinancing
only your first loan. If you plan on refinancing your
first loan, check with your mortgage company to see if having
a second loan will cause your refinance to be turned down.
Getting
a home equity credit line.
- Not checking
to see if your credit line has a pre-payment penalty clause.
If
you are getting a "NO FEE" credit line, chances
are it has a pre-payment penalty clause. This can
be very important (and expensive) if you are planning to
sell or refinance your home in the next three to five years.
- Getting
too large a credit line.
When
you get too large a credit line, you can be turned down
for other loans. Some lenders calculate your credit
line payments based upon the available credit, even when
your credit line has a zero balance. Having a large credit
line indicates a large potential payment, which makes it
difficult to qualify for loans.
- Not understanding
the difference between an equity loan and a credit line.
An
equity loan is closed--i.e., you get all your money up front,
then make payments on that fixed loan amount until the loan
is paid. An equity credit line is open--i.e., you
can get an initial advance against the line, then reuse
the line as often as you want during the period the line
is open. Most credit lines are accessed through a
checkbook or a credit card. Credit line payments are
based upon the outstanding balance.
Use an equity loan when you need
all the money up front--e.g. home improvements or debt consolidation.
Use a credit line if you have an
ongoing need for money or need the money for a future event--e.g.,
you need to pay for your child's college tuition in three
years.
- Not checking
the lifecap on your equity line.
Many
credit lines have lifecaps of 18%. Be prepared to
make high interest payments if rates move upwards.
- Getting
a credit line from your local bank without shopping around.
Many
consumers get their credit line from the bank with which
they have their checking account. Shop around before
deciding to use your bank.
- Not getting
a good-faith estimate of closing costs.
Within
three working days after receipt of your completed loan
application, your mortgage company is required to provide
you with a written good-faith estimate of closing costs.
- Assuming
that the interest on your home credit line/loan is tax deductible.
In
some instances, the interest on your home credit line is
NOT tax deductible. It is beyond the scope of this document
to provide tax advice or quote from the IRS code. Contact
an accountant or CPA to determine your particular situation.
- Assuming
a home equity line is always cheaper than a car loan or
a credit card.
A
credit card at 6.9% can be cheaper than a credit line at
12%, even after the tax deduction. To compare rates,
compare the effective rate of your credit line with the
rate on a credit card or auto loan.
Effective rate = rate * (1 - tax_bracket)
Example: If the rate of the
home equity credit line is 12% and your tax bracket is 30%,
your effective rateis12% * (1 - 0.3) = 12% * 0.7 = 8.4%
If your credit card is higher than
8.4%, the credit line is cheaper.
Besides the interest rate, you may
also want to compare monthly payments and other terms of
the loan.
- Getting
a home equity credit line if you plan to refinance your
first mortgage in the near future.
Many
mortgage companies look at the combined loan amounts (i.e.,
the first loan plus the equity line/loan) even though they
are refinancing only the first mortgage. If you plan
on refinancing your first loan, check with your mortgage
company to determine if getting a second line/loan will
cause your refinance to be turned down.
-
-
Getting
a home equity credit line to pay off your credit cards if
your spending is out of control!
When
you pay off your credit cards with your credit line, don't
put your home on the line by charging large amounts on your
credit cards again! If you can't manage the plastic,
get rid of it!
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